I gotta say, Pearisburg has probably been one of my more favorite cities to stop in. The people here have been absurdly friendly, the church hostel restored my faith in church hostels (get it, restored my faith. Ha. Ha…) and how awesome they can be.

Walking back to the trail, I found 7-Layer combos at a gas station. Yes they are as truely delicious as they sound. I got super lost trying to find my way back to the trail, that’s what I get for blue blazing. But I was given a bacon egg cheese biscuit and a Marlboro light after raiding the Hardees bathroom for tp, so it’s all good. Appalachia works in mysterious ways.

So finally at like, way after morning time, I was finally back on the trail, road walking and blazing past chemical plants. What a lovely smell and sound those make. At least the trail was rerouted this year.

image

But, just because it was rerouted doesn’t mean that it was a safe distance From the plant. The water source close by had the color and consistency of watered down milk. I hope no illiterate hikers drank that..

image

image
Trail nutrition

At least the hiking was relatively smooth.

image

image

Met Sean Kamp at the shelter, decided to keep on hiking and set up camp. I ended up completely overshooting my spot and having to stealth when I found a relatively less windy spot, considering how cold it’s been.

image

Hindsight it was probably that spot with the random ass camp chair at it. Either way, I was exhausted and needed to stop. I reached another tent and stopped there to setup camp [found out a few days later it was red rider and grey dog], and it was so windy I could barely cook and was miserably cold all night long đŸ˜¦

Croc Rocket